The History of British Rock 'n' Roll covers the period between the late 1950's and through the 1960's.
Volume 1, The Forgotten Years covers the period 1956 - 1962, when British artists began to challenge the dominance of their American counterparts in the rock 'n' roll music scene
Volume 2, The Beat Boom, picks up the story in 1963 and covers the impact of the beat groups and the British Invasion up to and including 1966...
You can purchase either of these books in print or ebook format from the usual on-line retailers such as Amazon, iTunes or Barnes & Noble. Just go to the links on each book's page.
Click on the images below to read more about each volume.

Click here for more details and ordering information
Volume 1 - The Forgotten Years 1956 - 1962

  • In the beginning
  • Britain's answer(s) to Elvis
  • The Larry Parnes family
  • But wait - there's more
  • Where are the girls?
  • Top gear
  • Behind the scenes
  • The composers
  • The trad jazz revival
  • The slippery slope
  • Whatever happened to?

Click here for more details and ordering information
Volume 2 - The Beat Boom 1963 - 1966

  • Beneath the surface
  • Breakthrough
  • The Northern invasion
  • The south strikes back
  • The beat goes on
  • And on
  • Girl power
  • The British invasion
  • Television and pirate radio
  • Mods and Rockers
  • The times they are a'changing
  • Play it loud

Click here for more details and ordering information
Volume 3 - The Psychedelic Years 1967 - 1969

  • Prelude
  • Let Us Take You Down
  • Us and Them
  • The Summer Of Love
  • Magical Mysteries Unveiled
  • Their Satanic Majesties
  • An Alternate Reality
  • What's The Mantra?
  • It Beggars Belief
  • It's Festival Time
  • It'll Be All White
  • More Festivals And A Circus
  • Back To Basics
  • Taylor Made
  • All Change
  • Breaking Up Is Hard To Do
  • Speedway To Disaster
  • The End Of The Decade
  • Epilogue

Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict